About Us


Message from the Chair


The School of Physical & Mathematical Sciences (SPMS) was established in 2005 and it has three divisions, including Chemistry & Biological Chemistry, Mathematical Sciences and Physics & Applied Physics. SPMS is one of the three schools that forms the College of Science, Nanyang Technological University.

SPMS has grown significantly in size and reputation since its inception 12 years ago. SPMS has now about 126 faculty members, 2500 undergraduates and 360 graduate students. SPMS faculty members are research active and many are well-known internationally for their outstanding research. The numbers of publications and amount of competitive external research grants received by SPMS faculty members have also been increasing steadily over the years. The research output in terms of publications, in top tier journals and conferences, has increased from 52 in 2005 to 644 in 2017. For the last 5 years, SPMS faculty members have received more than S$150 million in competitive research grants from external agencies. To date, SPMS has 27 National Research Foundation (NRF) Fellows and National Research Foundation (NRF) Investigators. We also have a 21 excellent young researchers, who are also recipients of the Nanyang Assistant Professorship.

The SPMS complex, a cluster of three buildings, was completed in May 2008 and was opened by the Singapore Minister for Education Dr Ng Eng Hen on July 21, 2009. Thoughtful design and the adoption of best practices in commercially laboratories have resulted in state-of-the-art laboratories with high safety standards. SPMS also has classrooms and interaction space that are highly conducive for the exchange of ideas. We are confident that the excellent infrastructure will translate into high-quality research and better education in science.

Tan Choon Hong
Professor and Chair