Grad Students

Overview of PhD and MSc Programmes


Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Chemistry

The PhD in Chemistry programme is a four-year programme that trains students to work in chemistry through a broad, flexible base of coursework and research experience. Our graduate students take advanced courses focusing on active research topics, and perform research under the supervision of a faculty member. The programme culminates in writing and defending a scientific thesis before a panel of scientific experts.

Our division boasts world-class experts in many fields of chemistry, contributing to NTU's 13th place rank in Chemistry in the 2017 Nature Index, among academic institutions worldwide. We have specialists in biophysical chemistry, nanomaterials, femtosecond and attosecond spectroscopy, microfluidics, atmospheric chemistry, polymer science, chemical biology, pharmaceutical chemistry, organic synthesis, organometallic chemistry, and many other areas.

Many PhD students in our division are supported by scholarships, which cover tuition fees and provide a stipend and other forms of support. Some scholarships include certain teaching and service requirements; the exact terms and conditions are explained upon the offering of the scholarship.

To apply for the Chemistry PhD programme, please go to our Admission Requirements page, and read the instructions carefully.

Master of Science (MSc) in Chemistry

The MSc in Chemistry programme is a 1–3 year programme that combines a coursework component with research experience at the frontiers of chemistry research. Masters students are also expected to complete a research thesis, typically at a lower level of comprehensiveness and scope than PhD theses.