Graduate Students


Overview of PhD and MSc Programmes


Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Physics

The PhD in Physics programme is a four-year programme that provides graduate students with experience in research at the frontiers of physics and applied physics research. Graduate students will take advanced courses focusing on active research topics, and perform research under the supervision of a faculty member. The programme culminates in writing and defending a scientific thesis before a panel of scientific experts.

Our division boasts world-class experts in a wide variety of physics disciplines, including condensed-matter physics, photonics, atomic/molecular/optical (AMO) physics, biophysics, soft matter physics, spintronics, quantum information, and more. We have a vibrant mix of both theoretical and experimental specialists, and have close scientific collaborations not only within NTU, but also with numerous other institutions in Singapore and abroad.

Many PhD students in our division are supported by scholarships that cover tuition fees and provide a stipend and other forms of support. Scholarships may include teaching and service requirements; the exact terms and conditions are explained upon the offering of the scholarship.

To apply for the Physics PhD programme, please go to our Admission Requirements page, and read the instructions carefully.

Master of Science (MSc) in Physics

The MSc in Physics programme combines a coursework component with research experience at the frontiers of physics and applied physics research. Masters students are also expected to complete a research thesis, though at a lower level of comprehensiveness and scope than PhD theses.