Curriculum Changes for New Students

Starting from AY2021-22, all undergraduate degree programmes in SPMS will incorporate the curriculum structure of the Interdisciplinary Collaborative Core (ICC) as part of the NTU Education​ 2025. Do refer to Figure 1 below for an illustration.*
The key elements of ICC curriculum and pedagogy are as follows:

  • ​Interdisciplinary – content is developed and taught by faculty from different disciplines and integrated to understand issues from various perspectives

  • Collaborative – students discuss and work in interdisciplinary teams on problems, projects or assignments

  • Core – learning outcomes are aligned to the 3Cs (Character, Competence, Cognitive Agility) of NTU Graduates

ICC courses include:

  • 7 Common Core Courses focusing on Key Transferable Skills (4) and Grand Challenges (3)

  • 3 Foundational Core Courses including Effective Communication, Digital Litera​cy and a Mandatory Internship

  • Co-curricular Modules​​

In addition to the ICC curriculum, all new students in SPMS will have to fulfil:

  • Major Requirement (Core and Major Prescribed Electives) – provides the fundamentals as well as advanced topics and trainings specific to the major discipline and specialisation

  • Broadening & Deepening Electives (BDE) – ​provides the opportunity to explore different courses in NTU; or take up more challenging and advanced topics within the chosen discipline
​​​​​​*The Curriculum of SPMS BSc (Honours) Programmes for Matriculation Year 2021 or later, will be updated, once finalised.